1723 has a decision of the king’s council imposed a tax on salt going through the Rhône to the provinces of Rouergue, Auvergne, Lyonnais, Dauphiné, Languedoc and Provence.
Tax revenues were for the work carried out in the branch of the Launes. They were used 1737 to the construction of the Saint-Louis Tower. Originally at the mouth of the Rhône located, this one was the last of a series of many towers. A new tower had to be built every time the river overflowed its banks. These were dual purpose towers: They served first as surveillance towers and safe haven for surrounding populations and after as lighthouse.
This tower is 1942 registered on the inventory of historic monuments. The municipality obtains 1973 its management and regularly carries out restoration work. It houses today the offices of the tourist information centre.
Located on the first floor of the Saint-Louis Tower at the beginning of 1998, this is the largest collection in the Camargue. These 168 identified, according to their natural habitats classified birds are in display cabinets with information panels and other specification sheets. A map indicates the different types of habitats existing on our territory in order to make possible for visitors to see birds in the middle of the nature.
Located on the second floor of the Saint-Louis Tower, this room welcomes all the year round painting, sculptures and pictures exhibitions from amateur or established artists as local history or other exhibitions.
The tower provides the visitors exceptional views of the Camargue, Saint-Louis canal, the salt marshes and the windmills. That is the unique point of view from the town, opened to the public, free access will be given to the telescope.
© 2011 Office de Tourisme de Port-Saint-Louis du Rhône - Réalisation Delta Flash